We will be using the website to share some of the best examples of recent research papers on Polish themes, and draw attention to some of the most interesting recent publications. The selection below is regularly updated but is not exhaustive.

Upcoming events


Thursday, December 16, 2021

"Imagined Community": Poetry and Poets in Polish Culture

a webinar with

Dr. Stanley Bill  

12:00 PM (NYC)/ 17:00 (London)/ 18:00 (Warsaw)

This talk looks at the particular importance of poetry in Polish history, with a focus on the twentieth century and the "Polish school of poetry". It will examine the significance of poetic works for ideas of national community in the face of external oppression, but also for the expression of more universal concerns. It will raise questions about directions of transnational cultural influence, looking at the international appeal of Polish poets (alongside filmmakers, theater directors, etc.) in the twentieth century. The talk will pay particular attention to the poets Czesław Miłosz, Tadeusz Różewicz, Zbigniew Herbert, and Wisława Szymborska.

The lecture is part of the Studying Poland Today talk series presented jointly by the Kosciuszko Foundation and the Project on Poland Past and Present. The webinar is free and open to the public, but spaces are limited.

For more information and to register, visit the Kosciuszko Foundation website.